Daily Post: Seconds – Please Sir I Want Some More

Daily Post: Seconds. Describe your most glorious meal in detail
pizza margherita

As Oliver Twist once said “I want some more”. The more in my case, is more than succulent flavours and mouth-watering goodness. I learned this ten years ago.

It was in an intimate piazza (public courtyard) in Venice. We sat outdoors, at the table furthest from the restaurant and closest to the water fountain. We watched children playing ball and many passersby. Some were tourists, others, Venetians shopping and still others, business men (and women) with briefcases. There were many dogs running about and faint music coming from an inexplicable source. This scene was almost surreal. This old world courtyard filled with modern sights and sounds.

We were at a Pizzeria, but with a 10, 12 and 14-year-old, that is no big surprise. I don’t even remember what kind of pizza I ordered. I only remember that my youngest ordered a Margherita Pizza. It was number one on the menu. The waiter nicknamed my daughter “number one” and joked with “number one” for the rest of the evening. He even joined us at the table for a while!

Despite the fact that it was only Pizza, it was authentic Italian pizza, cooked with fresh garlic and sun ripened tomatoes in a wood-fired oven. Delicious, to be sure, but I am not going to pretend I remember if it was mozzarella, gorgonzola or a combination of the two.

When we were done eating and drinking and people watching in this magical piazza, we wondered when the bill would arrive. In fact, we discovered it would never arrive, until we said we were done. The Italians have it right.

The point is, if pressed to pick the meal I would want seconds of, this would be it. A good meal, eaten in the cutest corner of the world, with a friendly, funny waiter at a relaxed leisurely pace.

Please Sir, I want some more!

4 thoughts on “Daily Post: Seconds – Please Sir I Want Some More

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Seconds! … Tonights meal … its 2:03 am …You will have to wait Part 1 and Part 2 | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  2. Pingback: Daily Post: Seconds – Thank you sir, I’ll have another! | From the C-Sweet

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Seconds! – Flash Fiction / Short Story – “A Little Bit of What You Fancy” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

